Posted by: davidsandusky | May 12, 2008

Make it an Absolutely Incredible Week for Someone – 5/12 – Vacation Planning

I am reminded this week on the importance of planning and doing what you say you will do ahead of schedule.  Simple examples include returning calls and emails as you get them not only for professional courtesy, but to clear off you busy plate right away.

This week I am reminded as I look to ahead to how often I will be out of pocket over the next few weeks.  I am often asked: “With already tight schedules and expectations, how does one manage expectations when going on vacation?”  In my case, I am out of town for my keynote presentation at a Disney Institute conference including workshops I am running and some social time mixed in at an extended trip to Orlando.  Next week my wife, Julie, and I are in Vail to showcase her products at a wedding industry event -that trip too turns into a mini-vacation.  Large pockets of time where I am not available.

As these events are here, I feel not much has changed.  Time is managed correctly, non productive activity is quickly dropped and delegation to capable people occurs.  Aside of a little bit of time packing and setting communication expectations, we are clear sailing.  The trick is this behavior is part of our consistent personal brand

Don’t wait until your schedule has a dramatic change to organize yourself.  Have you ever noticed how productive you and your colleagues are right before a vacation?  Challenge yourself to behave this way all the time.  You will know you succeed in expectations when your life does not change much just prior to a vacation. 

Start this week – clean up your activity and help others learn how to do the same.    

 

 

 

Responses

  1. […] David Sandusky’s Hire Educated wrote an interesting post today on Make it an Absolutely Incredible Week for Someone – 5/12 – Vacation PlanningHere’s a quick excerpt … xpectations when going on vacation?” In my case, I am out of town for my keynote presentation at a Disney Institute conference including workshops I… […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

